Q and A


Who or what inspired you to become a chef?
Many different people , both known and unknown, inspired me to become a chef. Jamie Oliver is my inspiration, but also my adopted mother

Where did you learn your craft?
I actually went to Culinary School, specifically Le Cordon Bleu

Did you cook growing up?
Yes. My biological mother made sure I at least knew how to cook for myself.

When did you realize you wanted to be a chef?
I wanted to be a chef a few years before I went to Culinary School, while I was serving in the military.

What was your first restaurant job?
Dishwasher

Do food trends affect your cooking style?
The only food trend that affects my cooking style is Sustainability.

What is your secret ingredient? Why?
Not sure I have a secret ingredient right now. I do love playing around with herbs and spices. I recently found garlic chives and am looking forward to using them in my dishes once they grow.

Do you have a favorite kitchen gadget?
I have two, pastry brushes and squirt bottles

What annoys you most in the kitchen?
Laziness

What do you enjoy most about your profession?
Food 🙂

Is there a food you can’t bring yourself to like?
Only the foods that I have found that I am allergic to.

What are some of your favorite restaurants?
My favorite restaurant is Osaka, a Japanese Steak House that my aunt and uncle would take me to in Kansas City while I was at School

What is one great cooking tip you can share with home cooks and foodies?
Taste Everything. Grub wisely and eat fresh. It tastes better.

When you’re not in the kitchen what are you doing?
Reading, studying, and learning more about my craft

Last meal on Earth would be??
A true English breakfast

What recipe will you share?
Rosemary Garlic Rubbed Steak
Ingredients:
2 tsp chopped fresh rosemary
1 beef bullion cube
1/8 tsp black pepper (more if you like heat)
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Garlic clove, chopped
1 Steak

Leave a Reply

