Molecular Gastronomy


Molecular gastronomy is the science of cooking but it is commonly used to describe a new style of cuisine in which chefs explore new culinary possibilities in the kitchen by embracing sensory and food science, borrowing tools from the science lab and ingredients from the food industry and concocting surprise after surprise for their diners. Formally, the term molecular gastronomy refers to the scientific discipline that studies the physical and chemical processes that occur while cooking. Molecular gastronomy seeks to investigate and explain the chemical reasons behind the transformation of ingredients, as well as the social, artistic and technical components of culinary and gastronomic phenomena in general.  In the end molecular gastronomy refers to experimental restaurant cooking driven by the desire of modern cooks to explore the world’s wide variety of ingredients, tools and techniques.  (complete history on this post: Molecular Gastronomy History).

Why am I writing about Molecular Gastronomy you may ask?   Well… its one of the extra-curricular school activities that I will be pursuing during my culinary education.  (The other school activities include the brewing class and catering.)   I will also be participating in the local chapter of the American Culinary Federation.   So I figured that I needed to know exactly what it was for when I start classes.

Tomorrow is new student orientation. 😀   So I’ll be heading to Portland to try on uniforms, get my ID, etc.   Still working on the clean eating blog, should get that up by the end of the week.    With the current debate going on about taking ASL out of schools.  I will also be writing about Deaf Chefs and the use of ASL in the kitchen.   I will be continuing my ASL studies when classes start up again sometime in late September.

Until next time….

 

Leave a Reply

